To Be A Top-Notch Student: A Guide

To Be A Top-Notch Student_ A Guide

Since it’s July and I feel like I’m already rotting in school just after two weeks of attending it, here’s a little treat for y’all. I also decided to write this one because I only got a few spare times to let off, and I want to leave you guys a gift before I become inactive (because I’ll surely be very inactive for the next months because of school).

SOOOO, here’s a few tips that may (or may not) help you guys with your school adventures. I hope that you’ll learn a thing or two from reading the things I wrote below.


So we all know that school is hard. There may be a time in our lives wherein we feel very nonchalant about the thought of school, but let me tell you this; make the most out of your school days. Don’t waste your youth hating on school! Seize every bit of it and ace it!

And here’s how.

1. ESTABLISH A GOAL. This is, for me, the most important thing to do. You have to set a goal, and make sure to fix your eyes on that goal of yours. Ask yourself; “what do I want to accomplish by the end of the school year?” If you already have an answer to that question, you’ll have to make sure that you’re prepared to do WHATEVER IT TAKES to make it happen.

Do you hear me? MAKE. IT. HAPPEN.

If your goal is to finish the academic year with flying colors, you’ll have to see to it that you have what it takes to do so. Don’t just dream about it. Live it–live your dream and MAKE. IT. HAPPEN.

(Special thanks to 2ne1 for the ‘make it happen’ quote. I love you, girls!)

2. FOCUS. As I’ve said earlier, establish a goal and fix your eyes on it. But here’s the thing; there are a LOT of distractions circulating around us. Our phones, relationships, and many more things.

However, everything else can wait. Your significant others can wait. Your Facebook or Twitter accounts can wait. Your Wattpad account can wait. Korean dramas, Korean boy groups and girl groups can wait. Netflix can wait. Snapchat can wait. And if these things could wait, your studies CAN’T.

You have to read now. You have to study now. You have to do your assignments now. Because you’re studies won’t be the one who will adjust for you. You can do everything else later, but you have to study right now. Put your studies on your top priority list because believe me, it’s the most important thing ever.

3. RELY ON YOUR INSPIRATIONS. Of course, you have to have an inspiration or two while going through your tough school life. You cannot possibly make it through if nothing inspires you, so you better choose the right inspiration.

Now, for some, their inspirations are their significant others (their girlfriends/boyfriends) and that is okay. You know what, there’s nothing wrong with entering a relationship while you are studying, not unless it becomes a distraction to you. However, this does not work for everyone.

Everyone has different inspirations, and you have your own, too. If some people get motivated by their relationship partners, then it doesn’t mean that you have to go enter a relationship to be inspired, too. (In my case, my mom and my dad became my number one inspiration in the last academic year. *giggles*)

4. DO YOUR BEST. This one sounds so cringingly cliché but this one is very, very true. Do your best. Make the most out of your days spent in school. Because you know, I’m certain that you will end up regretting not doing everything you could later on. As I’ve said earlier, everything else around you can wait–except your studies. So while it’s still there, make sure to do your best in it. You only study once (‘once’ that will take yeaaaars to finish), so be sure to make. the. most. out. of. it.

And before I forget, NEVER EVER leave school without learning anything ’cause if you do then you deadass just wasted a day in your life. What a waste, right?

5. BELIEVE IN YOURSELF. This is another cringingly cliché tip, but this is like the most essential tip that I could give to you. Because hey, what’s the use of doing everything you can do if you don’t even have the faith to believe that you can achieve what you want to? Having trust in yourself is like the foundation of your own tower, so if it’s not sturdy enough, everything else will fall down–everything else will be of no value.

6. DON’T STRESS IT! Working under pressure is something that others can’t do, so instead of lifting up their spirits, the pressure that they’re working under does otherwise. But for some, cramming or working under immense pressure is what inspires them to finish their tasks at once.

But really, don’t stress it and just chill your asses. What ever will be, will be. Just do your best to make it happen, and just patiently wait for the result. Not to mention that you also have to accept whatever the result is wholeheartedly.

(When your exams is near, I suggest that you study for 45 minutes, then take a break for 10 minutes, then resume. I’ve read an article about how this study habit is more effective than reviewing for how-many-hours straight.)

7. TREAT YOURSELF. Studying isn’t always about reading books and all that. If your routine is to study and to study again, then you are more likely to lose your interest in studying in the long run.

Now, this is what I do.

Every time I accomplish something, I give myself a little treat. For an instance, for every test/exam that I ace, I allow myself to watch an episode of an anime/Korean drama (this is a reward for me because I literally stopped watching Korean dramas and animes when the school started.) By doing this, I became more and more inspired to ace my tests in school. I hope this works for you as well. (You can change the treat, though. Like, watch a movie in the cinema whenever you get a perfect score on something, or eat a chocolate, buy a book–whatever you want, as long as it will inspire you more.)

8. PUSH (Pray Until Something Happens). Now, this one came from my Research teacher whom I adore very much. YOU HAVE TO PRAY UNTIL SOMETHING HAPPENS. However, this doesn’t mean that you would depend everything on Him. This is similar to the saying “do your best and God will do the rest.” or in Tagalog, “nasa Diyos ang awa, nasa tao ang gawa.”

Just pray for it. Pray for what you want to happen, but do not forget to show Him how much you deserve what you want. Prove it to him by doing your best, and let him take care of the rest. He will give it to you if you deserve it, and if He doesn’t, then that only means that He has something greater in store for you.


So there you have it, guys! Here is my own version of a guide on how to be a top-notch student. My fingers are crossed that you guys find this informative! I hope that this post will help you guys out. 🙂

So here’s a photo of me wearing my bronze medal after stuDYING last school year. Lmao. Kidding aside, here’s what I’ve got after doing everything I’ve listed above. I hope that this picture may somehow inspire you to do your best as well. (Walking across the stage to accept my medal with my dad was like the best moment is my entire life.)

Leave a Reply

